The Old Testament

The Bible is made up of the Old and New Testaments. They are not divisive in any way and are seen as progressive in terms of the timeline of events. Written in Hebrew, the Old Testament is actually the covenant made by God and His people. This was to prepare the people before the coming of Christ (which is where the New Testament started).

Books – In total, there are 39 books in the Old Testament starting from the book of Genesis which explains how God created the world, Adam and Eve and the fall of man. Besides that, it includes books like Exodus that tells the story of Moses and the Ten Commandments as well as Job, Psalms and Proverbs.

Sections – There are 4 main sections in the Old Testament namely The Pentateuch, Historical Books, Poetical Books and Prophetical Books.

The Pentateuch – This is the first 5 books of the Old Testament which is about the birth of the world, humankind and God’s promise to Israel and the people. It includes the story of Adam, Eve, Abraham, Jacob, Moses and others.

Historical Books – There are 12 books in total that includes the book of Joshua, Samuel and Kings. These books depict several timelines including the period of King Solomon, David and Samuel.

Poetical Books – 5 books make up this section that includes Psalms, Proverbs, Songs, Job and Ecclesiastes.

Prophetical Books – There are 17 books in total divided among Major Prophets (5 books) like Isaiah, Jeremiah, Ezekiel and Daniel and 12 books of Minor Prophets like Hosea, Joel and Micah, among others.